LOVELOUD 2022

LoveLoud Festival• May 14, 2022• Vivint Arena

Reviewed and Photographed by Josilyn Wakkuri Lybbert

Dan Reynolds’ LoveLoud Festival returned to Salt Lake City this weekend, on May 14th, for the first time since 2019. This year, the festival took place at Vivint Arena. The festival had a great lineup with the event’s founder Dan Reynolds of Imagine Dragons, Neon Trees, Anitta, WILLOW, and David Archuletta – just to name a few! LoveLoud is a festival that focuses on celebrating, accepting, and encouraging the LGBTQ+ community in Utah, especially the youth, was hosted by Kalen Allen. 

Continue reading “LOVELOUD 2022”

UCR Interview: Jake Scott

Photo Credit: Rachel Deeb

Pop singer-songwriter, producer, multiinstrumentalist, and recent Elektra Records signee Jake Scott will open for indie hitmaker Ben Rector on The Joy of Music: Live U.S. tour. The tour stops off in Utah for two shows at the Sandy Amphitheater on May 18 & 19. Scott will provide direct support for the first leg of dates, which wraps in Oklahoma City on Sunday, June 5.

We had the opportunity to visit with Jake leading up to the Utah tour stops. Enjoy!

Continue reading “UCR Interview: Jake Scott”

mxmtoon

mxmtoon w/ Chloe Moriondo• May 11, 2022• The Complex

Reviewed and photographed by Tomo Crestani

On Wednesday, May 11th, The Complex was able to host Maia, known professionally as mxmtoon. With her “Rising Tour” in full motion, Maia was able to sell out the Salt Lake City venue and draw a very decent crowd. Gaining a lot of her fanbase from YouTube, she was able to also share some of the spotlight with upcoming artist Chloe Moriondo. Chloe also has gained traction in the music industry through YouTube. It is really interesting to see such strong fanbases coming from posting covers and low-budget videos on the internet.

Continue reading “mxmtoon”

Lights

Lights w/ tiLLie• April 30, 2022• Soundwell

Reviewed and Photographed by Mallorie Lerman

The nightlife in Salt Lake can be as busy and versatile with its events and shows. As tilLLe (Not pictured due to technical issues!) took the stage Saturday night she had a strong presence and playful vibe. Accompanied by a heavy bass line, tILLIe opened with her song “Peachie”. Swinging to the beat and grabbing the mic singing “hi, hello, it’s your favorite enemy”. I loved the vibe of Soundwell during her performance. Everyone from the bar to the stage swayed along to the beat.

Continue reading “Lights”

Ryan Hurd

Ryan Hurd•May 4, 2022•The Depot

Reviewed and Photographed by Tomo Crestani

Pelago Tour

Although Ryan Hurd has had a successful career writing for Country Music’s biggest stars, he also enjoys writing for himself. With his visit to The Depot in Salt Lake City, Ryan became one show closer to closing out his “Pelago Tour”. Bringing along rising country star Morgan Wade, there was plenty of exciting music to be heard. 

Continue reading “Ryan Hurd”

Dennis Quaid

Dennis Quaid• May 5, 2022• Egyptian Theater

Reviewed and Photographed by Alisha Gregson

On May 5th, movie star Dennis Quaid arrived in Park City to show off his musical talent to a theater full of adoring fans. When I was first asked to cover his concert I had to read the name a couple of times to make sure I wasn’t mistaken. I had no idea that the same Dennis Quaid I have grown up watching on the big screen also performed live music. It would be easy to go on and on about how talented of an actor Quaid is, but since this is a review of his concert I will leave his many well-loved movies for another day.

Continue reading “Dennis Quaid”

The English Beat

The English Beat w/ The Mad Professor• April 29, 2022• The Commonwealth Room

Reviewed by Kevin Rolfe

There are times when I’ll see a concert on the calendar and know without any doubt that it’ll be a good time.  That’s exactly how it was when I saw The English Beat on the schedule.  I grew up with The Englis Beat, or The Beat, as they’re known in England being played on early MTV and on my brother’s record player.  The songs are so familiar and always take me back to that young time in my life.  As I’ve aged, (boy have I aged!) I’ve been able to appreciate the music more and more. They were one of the major bands of the ska music revival in England and a huge player in the New Wave, Post Punk generation. 

The English Beat has a dedicated fan base here in Utah.  They’ve played everywhere from Red Butte Gardens to the Complex to Soda Row in Daybreak.  Their shows are always well attended and the crowd is always a lively bunch.  

Continue reading “The English Beat”

Jerry Cantrell

Jerry Cantrell• April 28, 2022• The Depot

Reviewed and Photographed by Kevin Rolfe

Alice in Chains lead guitarist, co-lead singer, and principal songwriter, Jerry Cantrell brought his “Brighten Tour” to The Depot in Salt Lake City.  Cantrell is one of the best guitarists around, and I had never seen him live, solo or with Alice in Chains.  So I was definitely looking forward to this concert.  Utah is fortunate to be getting a double dose of Jerry Cantrell this year as Alice in Chains will be stopping by USANA Amphitheatre in late August.  

Continue reading “Jerry Cantrell”

Freddie Gibbs

Freddie Gibbs w/ Redveil & MIKE• April 27, 2022• The Complex

Reviewed and Photographed by Tomo Crestani

With an exciting new album in the works, legendary rapper Freddie Gibbs visited The Complex in Salt Lake City. Having sold out weeks before the show, there were many people outside the box office who had been scammed with fake tickets. The venue handled it very well in helping those fans find a way to attend the show or get their money back. That was basically the only negative thing I saw happen at the show. (Which is obviously not the artist’s or venue’s fault.)  Although not featured in the previous 2 shows, Freddie brought along a second opener for this show. The two openers featured in Salt Lake were Redveil and MIKE. Having had the opportunity to listen to all three artists before the show, I was excited to see how they performed each song. 

Continue reading “Freddie Gibbs”