Ain’t Too Proud

Ain’t Too Proud: The Life and Times of The Temptations • January 10, 2023• Eccles Theater

Reviewed by Kevin Rolfe

Photo Credit: Emilio Madrid

The Eccles Theater and Broadway at the Eccles started 2023 with a bang.  Ain’t Too Proud: The Life and Times of The Temptations was a perfect way to start the new year.  The jukebox musical tells the story of one of the most iconic and influential groups in music history.  The Motown legends had so many peaks and valleys throughout their career that it would be impossible to pack all of the history into a Broadway show.  But the production sure tried.  In the late 90s NBC produced an four hour miniseries of the group and even with all the detail they provided, I still had more questions. Each membrer of the classic lineup has a story that could be its own movie or musical. 

Continue reading “Ain’t Too Proud”

Mariachi Los Camperos

Mariachi Los Camperos Christmas• Concert December 8, 2022• Noorda Center

Reviewed by Kevin Rolfe

Photographed by Emily Muñoz

When I was invited to review Mariachi Los Camperos I was really excited. Growing up in Southern California, I’ve seen Mariachi bands like many of you might have, at parties, restaurants, and a variety of other appearances. But to see an entire concert of this beautiful style of music was something that I have waited much too long to see. When I heard that this was going to be a Christmas concert I was intrigued. When I think of Christmas music, I’m not sure if Mariachi is the first genre of music that comes to mind. But it was clear very quickly that this night would educate me on just how amazing Christmas music is when performed by a Mariachi band.

Continue reading “Mariachi Los Camperos”

Lindsey Stirling

Lindsey Stirling• Snow Waltz Tour• December 16, 2022• Maverik Center

Reviewed and Photographed by Josilyn Wakkuri Lybbert

Snow Waltz

On December 16, the multi-talented violinist Lindsey Stirling brought her Snow Waltz Tour to the Maverik Center in West Valley City, UT. Fans ranging in age from toddlers and beyond filled the arena excited for a night of Christmas music and entertainment! Even though I had played (or as my brother would say, “screeched,”) the violin for nearly a decade, for some reason I wasn’t too familiar with Lindsey Stirling. For years, I have heard from many that she is extremely talented and puts on a wonderful show. So I was excited to experience it for myself!

Continue reading “Lindsey Stirling”

Eileen Ivers

Eileen Ivers• December 3, 2022• The Noorda

Reviewed by Kevin Rolfe

Photographed by Emily Muñoz courtesy of Utah Valley University

Photo Credit: Emily Muñoz Courtesy of Utah Valley University

Don’t you hate it when you see someone so talented, so incredibly gifted, and think, “How is this the first I’m learning of this person?”  That’s how I felt when I saw American Fiddler, Eileen Ivers.  Turns out I’m familiar with a lot of her work.  But I’m kicking myself that I wasn’t familiar with her name. However, after seeing Ms. Ivers at the Noorda Center for the Performing Arts on the campus of Utah Valley University, I’ll never forget it.  Here’s just a snippet from the bio on Eileen’s website.  Her accolades are extensive and impressive…

Continue reading “Eileen Ivers”

Cera Gibson “Daddy” Single Release

Cera Gibson w/ Toby Season & Cherry Thomas• December 8, 2022• The Exchange

Reviewed and Photographed by Alisha Gregson

Photo Credit: Alisha Gregson

On Thursday, December 8th, local singer-songwriter Cera Gibson held the Release Party of her new single “Daddy” at The Exchange in Salt Lake City. Before Thursday, I hadn’t heard of either Cera or the venue, which is actually a nightclub, but I love any chance I get to experience live music and learn about local artists. When I walked into The Exchange, it felt very different from a typical concert venue. A VIP section with tables lined the room, and a small stage was centered in the middle of their dance floor. A sign advertising the night’s event was displayed, and I noticed it mentioned the dress code for the evening.

Continue reading “Cera Gibson “Daddy” Single Release”

USANA Amphitheatre Summer 2023 Lawn Passes are Back!

LN_PressRelease

LAWN PASS NOW AVAILABLE FOR SUMMER 2023 OFFERING FANS ACCESS TO 30+ CONCERTS

Live Nation announced the return of Lawn Pass, giving fans access to some of Summer 2023’s most incredible concerts at select local amphitheaters. With Lawn Pass, fans will have guaranteed general admission lawn seating and Fast Lane access all summer long for $199 plus a fee for 30+ shows. 

Continue reading “USANA Amphitheatre Summer 2023 Lawn Passes are Back!”

Moulin Rouge! The Musical

Moulin Rouge! The Musical •December 2, 2022• Eccles Theater

Reviewed by Kevin Rolfe

Photo Credit: Matthew Murphy

When Broadway at the Eccles announced their 2022-23 season and Moulin Rouge! The Musical was listed as one of the shows, I was beyond excited.  Like many of you, I’m a fan of the 2001 Baz Lurhman film starring Nicole Kidman and Ewan McGregor.  I had heard great things about the stage version but I had seen very little of the production.  I try really hard not to listen to the cast recording until I’ve seen the production.  And I try to avoid watching too much video footage.  I really want to go in as fresh as possible. 

Continue reading “Moulin Rouge! The Musical”

Rumours of Fleetwood Mac

Rumours of Fleetwood Mac• The Worlds Finest Fleetwood Mac Tribute Concert•November 12, 2022• Maverik Center

Reviewed and Photographed by Kevin Rolfe

RIP Christine McVie

I was so saddened to hear of the passing of Christine McVie, iconic member of Fleetwood Mac. Her songs and persona were so understated compared to the other band members.  Whenever I hear one of her songs, I always think, “I really like her songs. They’re so underrated.”.  And they are.  Utah Concert Review never had the chance to cover a Fleetwood Mac concert or Christine McVie.  I would have loved the opportunity.  Recently we did have the opportunity to review Rumors of Fleetwood Mac, a tribute band that Mick Fleetwood himself endorses.  At that concert when the Christine songs were performed I again thought, “I love her songs”.  This is my review of that night.  Rest in Peace, “Songbird”.  You are greatly missed. 

Rumors of Fleetwood Mac

Continue reading “Rumours of Fleetwood Mac”

The Backseat Lovers

The Backseat Lovers• November 22 & 23, 2022• Capitol Theatre

Reviewed by Josilyn Wakkuri Lybbert & Kevin Rolfe

Night 1 Photographed by Josilyn Wakkuri Lybbert

Night 2 Photographed by Kevin Rolfe

Night 1

Photo Credit: Josilyn Wakkuri Lybbert

When I got to the stunning Capitol Theater a little after 6 pm on Tuesday, November 22nd, there was already a line forming down the sidewalk for the Utah native Backseat Lovers’ first of two sold out shows there! Despite the chilly temperature, everyone in line was cheery, swapping music recommendations and other concert stories. Most people I spoke to had seen the band at least once before and were so excited to see them again!

Continue reading “The Backseat Lovers”

Trans Siberian Orchestra 2022

Trans Siberian Orchestra• November 22, 2022• Vivint Arena

Reviewed by Kevin Rolfe

Trans-Siberian Orchestra is celebrating over two decades of Christmas concerts, but from the looks of things, there are no signs of slowing down anytime soon.  It feels like a Christmas tradition here in Utah to see TSO.  For several years they show up at Vivint Arena right around Thanksgiving to usher in the holiday season.  I have seen TSO in concert a number of times, and of course, people always tell me this show is a must see.  Like many of you, I’ve heard their song “Christmas Eve (Sarajevo 12/24)” every year during the holiday season in commercials, at neighbor’s homes when they’ve synced their lights to music, or on various holiday playlists.  But even after seeing them live, I’m never sure what I’m in store for.  The lasers, the pyrotechnics, the amazing vocals, and the soaring guitars are always just a little different and surprising.  

Continue reading “Trans Siberian Orchestra 2022”