David Archuleta December 10, 2018 UCCU Center Orem, Utah

By: Kevin Rolfe 

Photo By: Kevin Rolfe

In case you hadn’t heard, Utah loves David Archuleta.  So much so that he scheduled five stops throughout Utah on his Winter in the Air Tour.  Last night I saw thousands of adoring fan scream their hearts out at the UCCU Center in Orem. If you can believe it,  David was the runner-up on American Idol ten years ago. But I don’t think his popularity here in Utah will ever fade no matter how far we get from Archuleta’s epic showdown with David Cook.

Continue reading “David Archuleta December 10, 2018 UCCU Center Orem, Utah”

Jim Gaffigan December 7, 2018 Vivint Arena

By: Kevin Rolfe

Photo By: Kevin Rolfe

Stand up comedy is an art form that fascinates me.  The ability to stand in front of a group of strangers and cause them to naturally react to something you’re saying with laughter totally blows my mind.  I truly marvel at the nerve these people have. I don’t know how they do it. I think it must be the scariest, riskiest in terms of failure potential, and therefore the most rewarding art form out there.  When a comic bombs, it’s just them out there. There aren’t other bandmates that they can share in their tanking with. It’s just them. But when done right, what can be better than having an entire comedy club crying laughing because of something you said.  Then imagine having an entire theater cracking up at something you said. Then imagine having an entire arena, filling a venue with thunderous laughter because of something you said. That’s how it was on Friday, December 7, at Vivint Smart Home Arena with Jim Gaffigan.  

Continue reading “Jim Gaffigan December 7, 2018 Vivint Arena”

UCR Interview- David Archuleta

Interview by: Kevin Rolfe 

Photo by: Robby Klein

David Archuleta brings his Christmas Tour to the UCCU Center in Orem, Utah on Monday, December 10.  We recently caught up with David and discussed his new Christmas album, what pressures might come from performing in Utah so often, and what are some of his favorite venues here in Utah.  Enjoy!  

Utah Concert Review:  You recently released your new Christmas album Winter in the Air and your single “Christmas Every Day” is getting a lot of airplay here in Utah, so congratulations on that.  How did you decide to release a new Christmas album?

David Archuleta:  From the moment I released my first Christmas Album I’ve wanted to release another one.  When we were finishing up Christmas From the Heart about ten years ago and I was like, “I’m going to have to do another one.”.  You can’t fit all the great Christmas songs on one album. I love Christmas, it’s my favorite.  They’re my favorite tours to do, so I just knew that I had to do another Christmas album. It was just a matter of when.  But then I saw that Pentatonix released three in a row so I thought, “You know I guess I can release another one almost nine years later.”.   Continue reading “UCR Interview- David Archuleta”

The Lower Lights 9th Annual Christmas Show December 3, 2018 Kingsbury Hall

By: Kevin Rolfe

The first time I heard about The Lower Lights was right after one of their run of Christmas shows here in Salt Lake City.  By the reaction of the people I was talking to, I could tell I had totally missed out on something special.

So three years ago I made sure to check out their show, which happened to be their first time at Kingsbury Hall.  If you’ve seen The Lower Lights, you’ll understand that it immediately became a Christmas tradition for me. I enjoy their concerts so much that I see two of their shows during their week-long run. If you’ve never seen them, then there is still time to see them this year.  I’m confident it will become a tradition for you as well.

I don’t know how these do it.  With band members coming from Nashville, Austin, St. George, and somewhere in Wyoming, let alone the ones that actually live locally involved with jobs, families and solo projects, there is no way they have as much time to rehearse as much as they’d like.  But they always sound great. I suppose the fact that this is their ninth year doing their Christmas show has helped them know how to relearn these songs quickly.

Like in past reviews, because I’m reviewing the opening night, and they have more shows to go, I’m not going to mention any of the songs they’re performing.  I think one of the best parts of a concert is the element of surprise. So I don’t want to spoil any of the show for those still planning on attending.  Which should be all of you.  

While voices were strong, and instruments were played brilliantly, I’m sure the member’s of the band would agree that this wasn’t the smoothest show they’ve ever done.  But in my opinion, it added to the charm of the show. There is such a casual air and a fun loving nature within this band that no misstart, feedback, or flubbed lyric hurt the performance at all.  They seemed to take any mistake in stride and make a joke, or just self-correct and move on.

The Lower Lights are a band with twenty members that at one point or another recorded at June Audio Recording Studios in Provo, Utah.  June Audio owner Scott Wiley brought them together for a recording project and The Lower Lights began. Some members come and go, but it appears as if the core group remains.  The Lower Lights have redefined what it means to be a “local artist”. If by local artist, you mean a band filled with amazing talent that wouldn’t surprise you if they were a professional band touring America, then yes, they’re a local artist.  I prefer to refer to them as a mega-talented Americana Orchestra that we are lucky to have to ourselves here in Utah.  

Monday night crowds are known for not always being the best.  But this crowd felt more like a weekend audience. The first upbeat song The Lower Lights played and the crowd rose to their feet.  They were up on their feet for many of the songs throughout the night. This is the type of show that you want to stomp your feet and clap along to.  When I looked around the theater I didn’t see people clapping their hands. They were throwing their hands together with vigor. I wouldn’t be surprised if people went home with bruises on their palms. They were hitting their hands together that hard! But I get it, it’s virtually impossible to not clap along to this infectious music.

As the concert progressed I noticed that up in the front of the theater there was a group of about six or eight children who were dancing and waving their arms in the air.  It was really cute, and they were a blast to watch. The band noticed them and towards the end of the show, they brought these children on stage. It was such a fun part of the night, and great on the spot thinking from the band.  I thought that they might have been some of the band members kids, but I was told following the show that they weren’t related to the band. I’m sure it was nice to know that there is a new generation of Lower Lights fans.

If you have never seen The Lower Lights in concert, I cannot recommend it more.  For me, it’s not until after seeing them that my holiday season actually begins. The show is a lot of fun. But it’s also heartfelt, spiritual, poignant at times, and hopeful.  Whatever your experience is this holiday season, there is a message for you at this concert.

For more information on obtaining tickets to this show go to…

www.thelowerlights.com

Metallica November 30, 2018 Vivint Arena Salt Lake City

By: Kevin Rolfe

Photo By: Kevin Rolfe

November 30, 2018, was a historic night for Vivint Smart Home Arena.  Not only did Metallica make their return to the venue, and Utah, after a ten-year absence, but they also set the arena’s post-renovation attendance record with 17,574 fans showing up for the concert.  And I believe it! I don’t think I’ve seen that place so packed!

Continue reading “Metallica November 30, 2018 Vivint Arena Salt Lake City”

Andrea Bocelli November 29, 2018 Vivint Arena Salt Lake City

By: Kevin Rolfe

Photo By: Kevin Rolfe

We really classed things up over here at Utah Concert Review last night.  Vivint  Smart Home Arena was transformed into an opera house, and we attended Andrea Bocelli’s first ever concert in Utah.  He has such a strong fan base here in Utah that it was surprising that he had never played here before. Well, it was well worth the wait.  Bocelli’s fans were out in full force packing the arena for their favorite tenor’s debut in Utah.

Before I get into the concert itself, I have to mention some things about the audience and the venue.  While I enjoy attending concerts at Vivint Smart Home Arena the sound isn’t always the best. It’s just the way the venue was built.  Some tours come through and the sound techs can’t figure out how to mix this venue. Other times it’s passable and the show is so good no one cares. And other times the sound is good. I was concerned because of the type of show Andrea Bocelli puts on. It’s opera. It’s the type of music that is usually performed in halls created with the greatest acoustics you’ll find anywhere. But I have to hand it to whoever did the sound at this show. As far as shows go at Vivint Arena, this was one of the best I’ve heard.

Now, with opera being performed, this show is an upscale event.  A certain decorum and style are expected as such events. But it’s difficult because we’re all walking into a venue where basketball is played, and Metallica is performing the next night.  If you’re going to the Capitol Theater to see The Magic Flute, I think you know it’s the type of show where you throw on your best suit or dress. But I think this audience got the idea. People were dressed to the nines!  I saw slick suits and fancy gowns all throughout the arena. I saw furs (hopefully synthetic, or really really old!) and ascots. This audience was gussied up! And for whatever reason, that made me really happy.

Continue reading “Andrea Bocelli November 29, 2018 Vivint Arena Salt Lake City”

Lindsey Stirling Wanderland Tour November 26, 2018 Maverik Center

By: Kevin Rolfe

I have never seen Lindsey Stirling perform live before Monday night.  Well, now that I think about it, that’s not really true. I, like many of you, saw Lindsey for the first time at a halftime of a Utah Jazz game.  She was then known as the “Hip Hop Violinist”. I can’t remember if it was before or after her quarterfinal run on season five of “America’s Got Talent”.  But I would never have guessed the worldwide success she’s achieved since then. Not that I didn’t she had talent. I just can’t remember seeing someone perform at a halftime of a NBA game, then seeing them at a show they’re headlining.  I’ve been really happy for her success. It seems she’s worked hard for it, and the work has paid off. Lindsey brought her Wanderland Holiday Tour to the Maverik Center on Monday night. It was a show filled with heart, humor and holiday cheer.  

Continue reading “Lindsey Stirling Wanderland Tour November 26, 2018 Maverik Center”

UCR mini-Interview: Midge Ure on “Do They Know it’s Christmas”

By: Kevin Rolfe

Original Album Cover

Thirty-four years ago today, the song “Do They Know It’s Christmas” by Band Aid was released.  Boomtown Rats frontman Bob Geldof saw a report on the BBC about the famine in Africa and desperately wanted to help.  He recruited Ultravox frontman, Midge Ure, to write a song with him in the hopes of raising $100,000 for famine relief.  They wrote the song in a few days, and then they took to their individual assignments in getting this project off the ground.

 Midge locked himself in the studio, recording, arranging, and producing the track so that it would be ready when the time came to add vocals.  That was Geldof’s job. Bob Geldof went on a mission to form a one-off supergroup by recruiting some of the biggest voices in British music of the day.  He didn’t go through managers or publicists. He went straight to the artists themselves. He recruited the likes of Bono of U2, Boy George of Culture Club, Simon Lebon of Duran Duran, Tony Hadley of Spandau Ballet, and George Michael of Wham.  These vocalists along with many others agreed to show up and record this song over a 24 hour period. The song was recorded and released the very next day. It was the fastest selling single in UK chart history selling 1 million copies in the first week and has sold almost 4 million copies in the UK to date and about 13 million worldwide.  The song did not raise $100,000 dollars. However, within a year of its release, the song had raised $8 million. The success of the song drove Geldof and Ure to put together one of the greatest concert festivals of all time, Live Aid. Continue reading “UCR mini-Interview: Midge Ure on “Do They Know it’s Christmas””

Trans Siberian Orchestra November 20, 2018 Vivint Arena Salt Lake City

By Kevin Rolfe

Photo by: Kevin Rolfe

You know when you walk into a venue and there’s a sign taped to every door saying, warning of lasers, flashing lights, and pyrotechnics, that you’re in store for quite an experience. And what an experience it was! Trans-Siberian Orchestra brought are celebrating their twentieth anniversary, but from the looks of things, there are no signs of slowing down anytime soon.

Continue reading “Trans Siberian Orchestra November 20, 2018 Vivint Arena Salt Lake City”

UCR Interview- Justin Hambly

Interview By: Kevin Rolfe 

Justin Hambly performing at the Angelus Theater. Photo by: Kevin Rolfe

Note from the interviewer:

Justin is a singer songwriter from Aptos, California.  He has been performing in bands for years, but it’s only within the last decade that he’s taken to writing/ recording his own music and performing solo shows or with his band The Heavy Hand along the west coast.  I’ve known Justin for over twenty years.  These are questions and stories that I have wondered about and am now so happy to have answers to.  I hope you enjoy reading this interview as much as I had conducting it!

Utah Concert Review:  As long as I’ve known you, you’ve been involved with music, whether it be with your former band Moz Eizley, or your current band The Heavy Hand and of course your solo work as well. I guess I’ve never known where you got started with music.  I know your dad plays a little guitar and is in a band right now. Is that how you got your start?

Continue reading “UCR Interview- Justin Hambly”